RSS

14/365 – “Fun to play with, not to eat”

10 Jan

Yes, that is a Play-doh slogan, check out the website! Did you know that Play-doh has been around since 1956? Back then, it only came in one color, off-white; and one size, 1.5 pound cans! I have always loved Play-doh. My earliest recollection is the “Play-doh Fuzzy Pumper Barber Shop”. For those of you who never had the pleasure of playing with one of these, you put “Play-doh Pete” in the barber chair, pumped the pump, and Play-doh came out of the little holes in his head. You could then cut his hair with the plastic scissors. These scissors would cut real hair also. I know this from experience! My brother assured me, at the age of about four, that they would not, but boy was he wrong! And boy, did I look funny after he got done with me!

20120110-211042.jpg

This picture was taken in my classroom today. I was puttering around, trying to come up with something to shoot when I saw my plastic cauldron full of Play-doh cans sitting on the shelf. We teachers will use anything to store stuff! In case you’re wondering, I teach high school, and yes, we do use this stuff in class. I would say “play with” this stuff, but I get on to my students for that. It is great for making models of atoms, molecules, cells, various body parts, and such. (You have to be careful with that last one!) 🙂

Till tomorrow,
Stephany

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2012 in Project 365

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “14/365 – “Fun to play with, not to eat”

  1. sarah

    January 10, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    Lol!! I remember the plastic scissors debacle!! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
